Closed Shopify Store

How To Cancel Shopify – Close or Pause Your Store

Sometimes in life and business, things don’t go as planned and unexpected things happen. Maybe your sales have plummeted, or you’re just looking to switch to a new e-commerce platform. Or perhaps you want to take a break, travel, and spend time with family. There can be many reasons for needing to close or pause your Shopify store. No matter the reason, I will walk you through the process with an easy step-by-step guide.

Feeling unsure about pausing your Shopify store or permanently closing your doors? Let’s talk about your e-commerce business and its challenges before you make the decision!

 

How To Pause Your Shopify Store

Pausing your Shopify store keeps it active while disabling the checkout feature. This option is called the Pause and Build plan*, and it costs $9 per month. Customers will be able to browse through your website, but cannot make any purchases. You can continue to make changes to your store, such as adding or editing products. Pausing your store is a great way to take a break, go on vacation, reassess your business plan, improve business operations, and more.

*You can only select the Pause and Build plan if your store has been on a paid plan for at least 60 days after the end of your free trial.

Now that you know pausing your Shopify store is an option, here are the steps to do it!

Steps

  1. Log in as the store owner.
  2. From your Shopify admin, click Settings, and then click Plan and permissions.
  3. In the Store status section, click Pause.
  4. If you agree with the terms, then click Pause.
  5. Enter a message for visitors to your store.
  6. Click Submit.
  7. Your store is now paused!

Reopen Your Store

Once you’re ready to start selling again, you can simply unpause your store and choose a Shopify plan that works best for your e-commerce business.

  1. Log in as the store owner.
  2. Select a pricing plan from the available options.

After you select a plan, you can work on your store until you are ready to start selling again.

If you set up a password for your store while it was paused, then you can remove your online store password.

How To Close Your Shopify Store

If you don’t want to run your online store anymore, Shopify makes it easy to close it at any time. Remember that after you close your Shopify store, you won’t have access to your admin area. You’ll also need to re-enter your credit card and reactivate the store to log back in.

Note: If you choose to reopen your store within 90 days of closing it, Shopify guarantees that all of your data and configuration information will be preserved. 

Wait a second! Before you close your store for good, consider the following tips:

  • Make sure that you pay any outstanding charges that you might have to avoid any future bills from Shopify.
  • Backup your store information by exporting CSV files. You can also save your bills by exporting your billing history. This comes in handy for tax time!
  • Make sure to cancel any third-party apps (found outside of Shopify) that have your payment information and bill monthly. Avoid those ongoing bills for an app that can’t be used!
  • Make sure to resolve any outstanding gift cards for customers who have purchased them from your store. You can export your store’s gift card CSV file that contains the information you need to continue this support.
  • If you purchased a domain through Shopify, then you can transfer it to another provider. You may want to use the domain again!

Steps

To confirm that your store is closed, visit your store’s URL and see that your store no longer appears.

Share Your Thoughts